Sorting by


Two non-judicial members to the Criminal Procedure Committee reappointed

The Lord Chancellor has approved the reappointment of Paul Jarvis and Edmund Smyth as non-judicial members of the Criminal Procedure Rule Committee (CPRC) for 4 years from 1 September 2023.

Paul Jarvis was first appointed to the CPRC on 1 September 2019. He is a Junior Treasury Counsel at the Central Criminal Court; appointed by the Attorney General to prosecute serious cases such as murder and terrorism. He undertakes voluntary work on the Bar Standards Boardā€™s Independent Decision-Making Body. He has written books and articles on criminal procedure and given a range of lectures on relevant subjects.

Edmund Smyth was first appointed to the CPRC on 1 September 2019 is a Senior Associate in the Criminal Litigation Department of Kingsley Napley. He represents individuals and corporates across the full spectrum of criminal and quasi-criminal investigations and prosecutions involving matters such as financial crime, bribery and corruption, asset recovery, sexual offences and extradition. He is a committee member of the London Criminal Courts Solicitorsā€™ Association and acts as the Associationā€™s media officer.

The Courts Act 2003 established the Criminal Procedure Rule Committee (CPRC) to make rules governing the practice and procedure of magistratesā€™ courts, the Crown Court and the Court of Appeal, Criminal Division.

The Act requires the CPRC, which is chaired by the Lord Chief Justice, to make rules that are simple and simply expressed and that help make the criminal justice system accessible, fair and efficient.

The Commissioner for Public Appointments regulates the appointment of non judicial members of the CPRC and recruitment process must comply with the Governance Code on Public Appointments.

Appointments to the CPRC are made by the Lord Chancellor in consultation with the Lord Chief Justice for England and Wales.

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button